Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Sooo...how much for the 780? stimpsonjcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Georgia - Lake Lanier - near 6TH
    Posts
    853
    +1
    19

    Anyone ever put trim on an SLT? Is it worth it?

    I was considering maybe getting a trim nozzle and fabing up some method to set it at fixed angles to see if adding trim to an SLT780 might gain some top end speed.

    Anyone ever done this? Do the longer skis benefit from this? It seems Polaris didn't put trim on the 3-person skis and so I am wondering if it wasn't worth it.

    Also, while on the subject I was reading thru the ride plate thread and I am wondering if the fancier plates can add to speed?


  2. #2
    Moderator beerdart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    25,930
    +1
    1,407
    Yes and Yes.

  3. #3
    BlueFishCrisis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Medina, Ohio, United States
    Posts
    4,988
    +1
    140
    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post
    Yes and Yes.
    I have trim and extended ride plates on both of my skis. I would do it. You should be able to find a trim motor for a relatively decent price. Your MFD probably already has trim built in.....

  4. #4
    Sooo...how much for the 780? stimpsonjcat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Georgia - Lake Lanier - near 6TH
    Posts
    853
    +1
    19
    Bluefishcrisis, do you have any pics of the extended plates?

    Yeah I think the MFDs have segments for the trim. Did you have to cut a hole for the motor or what? It mounts through the rear of the hull somewhere as near as I can tell.

  5. #5
    I'm addicted to Polaris PWC ghostinstallations's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Rochester, New York
    Posts
    920
    +1
    28
    Mounts on top of the pump box. Drill a large hole for the unit and three small holes in a triangle around the larger hole to bolt the unit down. Plug it into the blue and green terminals in the electrical box and then replace the handlebar control with one with the trim. No complex wiring.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Anyone using a TDR on an EFI 1300?
    By Pale Rider in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 09-24-2017, 11:42 AM
  2. Anyone ever put an outboard on an empty hull?
    By stimpsonjcat in forum Polaris Open Discussion
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 09-24-2012, 09:25 PM
  3. Has anyone ever put a rxp on one of these?
    By skingelo in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 07-03-2012, 08:00 PM
  4. Anyone ever put in an insurance claim with Progressive?
    By Otto J in forum Open Discussion
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 10-10-2010, 04:00 PM
  5. Anyone ever put ajustable tilt steering RXP
    By jekvall in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-25-2009, 09:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •