Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    TheEngineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    934
    +1
    131

    Testing Wires - What all needs to be connected?

    I'd like to test and make sure my wiring harness is still functional. Is there anyway to test this outside of the ski? Basically I'd like to be able to put the key on the DESS post and just test to see that my new gauge cluster lights up. I'm not really worried about it throwing codes, just want to make sure the harness, DESS post, and cluster are functional.


  2. #2
    We do this all the time. We have dozens of test setups that are often bits and pieces of harnesses and components.
    You just need power, ground, and the DESS post to fire it up.

  3. #3
    TheEngineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    934
    +1
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by CANDooPro View Post
    We do this all the time. We have dozens of test setups that are often bits and pieces of harnesses and components.
    You just need power, ground, and the DESS post to fire it up.
    Thanks for the info. I have another question and you might be the only one able to help out with it; During the accident my gauge cluster flew off and the a few wires that were attached to the harness connector that attaches to the back of cluster, came loose. I'm hoping you or someone with easy access to a 2012 steering wiring harness might be able to send me a closeup photo of the cluster connector. I'm specifically looking for an exact description of which color wire connects to which number pin on the back of the connector. I'd like to reattach the wires that were pulled off and then test this harness to see if it's in working condition. Thanks in advance.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	photo (2).jpg 
Views:	43 
Size:	110.2 KB 
ID:	280833

  4. #4
    Moderator beerdart's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    CT
    Posts
    25,929
    +1
    1,407
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wire2.jpg 
Views:	23 
Size:	25.5 KB 
ID:	280846   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wire.jpg 
Views:	22 
Size:	83.8 KB 
ID:	280845   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	wire1.jpg 
Views:	26 
Size:	72.5 KB 
ID:	280844  

  5. +1 by:


  6. #5
    TheEngineer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa, FL
    Posts
    934
    +1
    131
    Quote Originally Posted by beerdart View Post

    Sweet!!! Exactly what I needed. Where'd you get this shop manual?

  7. #6
    Aussiepauly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Sydney Australa
    Posts
    898
    +1
    70
    Quote Originally Posted by TheEngineer View Post
    Sweet!!! Exactly what I needed. Where'd you get this shop manual?
    I just got one from Riva as my dealer couldn't get one, they have them in stock.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. What needs to be programmed? Candoo do it all?
    By Avi8tor in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 08-07-2012, 02:07 PM
  2. What needs to be done to pull engine?
    By git_sum in forum Polaris How To & FAQs
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-01-2011, 03:33 PM
  3. 500hrs fx 140 what needs to be checked?
    By andy95'slx780 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-05-2010, 10:22 PM
  4. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-22-2010, 10:44 AM
  5. Stage III sc what needs to be done to run on stock ski?
    By JonnyRXT in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2008, 04:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •