Red Plug below auto cock

I am new to all this so forgive me, but can anyone tell me what purpose of red plug is below the autocock? I am ordering Triple outlet fuel pump tomorrow from John Ziegler. However as I am looking through trying to get understanding how things work i seen this red plug on bottom rail.

Any help greatly appreciated
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	red plug.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	77.6 KB 
ID:	280960

Sorry was taken with iphone so not greatest shot.

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk! If it is on the bottom rail, it is likely someone decided it was better to plug the return line then to keep the installation as Polaris intended it. This plug should go when you do the conversion, and the return line should connect back to the fuel tank return nipple. Have John throw a return line restrictor in the box with the Fuel pump.......

Also standard prerequisite reading : http://polarispwcknowledge.shorturl.com/

Banned User
    +1
    First, that auto cock needs to be removed. The red plug may be i n one of the fuel lines for the carb feed. There was an early fix that split the fuel pump into 2 outlets, with t fittings between the 2 carbs. My SL 650 had this when I got it, and there was a red plug that looked just like that one in one of the carb inlets. It would have been the rear most inlet, like in that picture. I think that was a Polaris update when the problem of leaning out and burning down Mag cylinders popped up.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by BryanP View Post