+1

Help With GPS for FX Cruiser SHO???

With the addition of the new FX Cruiser SHO, I am now taking longer rides and exploring local lakes. I am looking at a GPS and mounting it. I know how to mount it but have some questions about GPS's.

1. Do they work just like the one in my car? In other words, it will show me the marinas, restaraunts, and gas on the lake?

2. Easy to plot a trip from the start of my campground and the destination and show me exactly where to go on the water on the GPS?

3. I am lost as to what to get, would like to keep it under $400, any suggestions?

Give me the lowdown on a marine use GPS, I am a tech junkie but clueless when it comes to GPS for marine use.

+1

+1
    When it comes to GPS and applications/maps, there are lots to choose from. For a long time (IMHO) the standard was the Garmin GPS Map 76CSx (Top of the line for the 76 models). It's the first one I bought and still use to this day. Although it's been discontinued, they can still be found for new at half the original price. It's now been replaced by the 78 series, and they are not giving them away. More about those units at http://www.garmin.com/us/

IMHO, the biggest draw back for either of those two (priced new) is price, screen size and costs of extra maps. That being said, I'm glad I have my 76... If I were to make a change, I'd prob. be looking for a marine GPS/Plotter w/the larger screens. IDK which one yet, b/c I'm still not in the market.

As old as it is now, I've built my website starting w/a base of trails that all came from my travels via my 76. The site has grown and I welcome you to look at it. See link in sig. below. If and when you make a purchase, and you start venturing out, please consider sharing your info. to my site so that others may benefit and perhaps share theirs as well.