Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

I keep falling off my Hurricane. help?

ok so this is really embarrassing but i cant seem to stay on my jetski. I'm new to this and got myself a Polaris Hurricane 1996 750cc

probably my first mistake as its so fast.its like you have been catapulted from standing point to 1000mph

basically i keep falling off when i want to turn direction. i think its because i slow right down to turn and thats when all goes wrong but i dont have the guts to turn at high speeds encase i fall off.i feel if i do turn sharp at high speeds the jetski will lean to one side and i will fall of.

it also dont help that im driving this in the sea at my local beach and there were alot of waves and its hard to balance.

also at a certain high speed my jetski jumps out of the water and when i crash back down into the water i have to ease of the throttle because its very uncomfortable. plus the bang of the water as the jetski hits back into the water. will this damage anything?

should i be standing or sat down ? im sure everyone falls off on their first time but maybe not as many times as me
    [/U]

any tips or help would be appreciated
    Last edited by K447; 08-26-2012 at 09:50 PM.

Banned User
    +1
    The Hurricanes are known for tossing people, but I hear they are a ton of fun.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Find some smoother water and learn how your machine needs to be ridden

The stock Hurricane hull has some handling 'challenges'.

Is your Hurricance in stock configuration?

At speeds above 25mph or so the nose tends to porpoise up and down constantly. The cure is to modify the ride plate by making it longer. This is a custom modification since longer ride plates were never manufactured commercially as far as I can tell.

Cornering stability can be improved by adding aftermarket sponsons designed for a Seadoo HX. Member Wetwolf on here has posted more info about HX sponsons on his Hurricane.