Page 1 of 24 12311 ... LastLast

1983 Kawasaki JS 550

Hi everyone, I'm new to owning a Jet Ski, I've rented stand ups a few times in the past but never owned a PWC. I picked up this 1983 550 that I've taken to Chatfield Reservoir a few times and it ran like a champ. I took it a third time and it had problems starting after a few runs and the battery wore down. I took it home and tried to charge the battery but it had problems holding a charge and it didn't want to turn over. I thought the engine might be seized or the pump possibly so I began pulling the jet pump off just to take a look. I had the cone off and I was going to finish pulling the pump off this morning. I tried starting it and it started turning over but the battery quickly died. I'm 90 percent sure it's a dead battery that's my problem, it won't hold a charge. I have to order up a new one soon because I want to get back on the lake with this ski soon before it gets cold. This winter I plan to do all the fiberglass repair and paint, I plan to paint it lime green metallic with original black decals I saw on ebay. I took a look at the propellor, there's some scuffs but no chips or nicks so I'm not sure if it's in need of replacement. I cleaned out the engine bay of all grease really good and used up about 8 rags and I used a can of engine degreaser spray. The ski has an aftermarket ride plate and an aftermarket waterbox. I was considering an engine rebuild if the motor was seized but luckily it was probably just a flooded carb and bad battery because the engine is turning over again. I've been reading the forum and getting a lot of info on how to paint the top and bottom using gelcoat and the detailed methods, it's been very helpful, I wish I had read it all before I painted my e30 recently. I need to get some hydroturf, I've been getting pretty bruised up. So far it's been a blast and I'm already thinking about buying another stand up someday and a trailer too, so far I've just been loading it up in the