Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    born riding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    richmond, va
    Posts
    294
    +1
    3

    motec base map problem?

    hey all, I am new to motec but have wanted it for a long time. My bro bought a ski with motec in it, so I bought his old one. So when i got it, there was a super modified map on it. I downloaded the base map 1a from motec and ran the ski.
    it would not go over 4,000rpm (felt like ignition cut, like limp) but between 2,000 and 3,000rpm there was a stutter. and when the dash is on but the engine is off and i push the stop button the fuel pump turns on.
    I will get the hang of it eventually. I am in the proccess of reading all the motec info and related threads, but will take a while and wanted to ride this weekend so thought I would ask to see if anybody could help.
    i tried to look and the errors and looks like maybe crank and cams are out of synch?
    i have been unable to upload the logs as attachments, so I will find out and try again. or at least post screen shots
    Thanks, Barrett


  2. #2
    born riding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    richmond, va
    Posts
    294
    +1
    3

    screen shots

    Quote Originally Posted by born riding View Post
    hey all, I am new to motec but have wanted it for a long time. My bro bought a ski with motec in it, so I bought his old one. So when i got it, there was a super modified map on it. I downloaded the base map 1a from motec and ran the ski.
    it would not go over 4,000rpm (felt like ignition cut, like limp) but between 2,000 and 3,000rpm there was a stutter. and when the dash is on but the engine is off and i push the stop button the fuel pump turns on.
    I will get the hang of it eventually. I am in the proccess of reading all the motec info and related threads, but will take a while and wanted to ride this weekend so thought I would ask to see if anybody could help.
    i tried to look and the errors and looks like maybe crank and cams are out of synch?
    i have been unable to upload the logs as attachments, so I will find out and try again. or at least post screen shots
    Thanks, Barrett
    I think the error shot should help
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	94 
Size:	140.9 KB 
ID:	281605   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture errors.PNG 
Views:	89 
Size:	50.2 KB 
ID:	281606  

  3. #3
    born riding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    richmond, va
    Posts
    294
    +1
    3
    ok so after posting i continued reading and realized the shot on the right is with motor off, so data is invalid! also forgot to mention that the idle was very high.
    also kept playing with the log data and realized the ignition is in fact being cut . as well as oil pressure being at 100. (but thought oil pressure was on a switch?) I am a little weary of changing any settings until i have a better understanding of the programing. I will continue to look for help and post results when corrected.
    Barrett

  4. #4
    MoTeC Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    643
    +1
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by born riding View Post
    ok so after posting i continued reading and realized the shot on the right is with motor off, so data is invalid! also forgot to mention that the idle was very high.
    also kept playing with the log data and realized the ignition is in fact being cut . as well as oil pressure being at 100. (but thought oil pressure was on a switch?) I am a little weary of changing any settings until i have a better understanding of the programing. I will continue to look for help and post results when corrected.
    Barrett
    Hi Barrett
    With out looking at any data it sounds like the reverse RPM limiter is activated
    Is the ski modified in any way?
    If the reverse has been disconnected then this is likely your problem
    To remove this limiter go into ECU manager while live to the ECU
    Go
    Adjust
    Digital Input Functions
    SWin6 (AT6) Dual RPM
    Functions
    Turn off , so change the number from 4 to 0
    Press R for reset and your done

    If you still have the problem send me the logged data

    [email protected]

    To find out how to send logged data goto the webinar section on our website and look in the PWC section

    Cheers

    Pete


  5. #5
    born riding's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    richmond, va
    Posts
    294
    +1
    3
    Hi Barrett
    With out looking at any data it sounds like the reverse RPM limiter is activated
    Is the ski modified in any way?
    If the reverse has been disconnected then this is likely your problem
    To remove this limiter go into ECU manager while live to the ECU
    Go
    Adjust
    Digital Input Functions
    SWin6 (AT6) Dual RPM
    Functions
    Turn off , so change the number from 4 to 0
    Press R for reset and your done

    If you still have the problem send me the logged data

    [email protected]

    To find out how to send logged data goto the webinar section on our website and look in the PWC section

    Cheers

    Pete[/QUOTE]

    no mods at this point
    Never removed or altered Reverse
    But you were spot on! I followed your instructions and all is good.
    I got to ride this weekend and put a perminant smile on my 3yr olds face
    Thank you very much pete!


  6. #6
    MoTeC Pete's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    643
    +1
    28
    Quote Originally Posted by born riding View Post
    Hi Barrett
    With out looking at any data it sounds like the reverse RPM limiter is activated
    Is the ski modified in any way?
    If the reverse has been disconnected then this is likely your problem
    To remove this limiter go into ECU manager while live to the ECU
    Go
    Adjust
    Digital Input Functions
    SWin6 (AT6) Dual RPM
    Functions
    Turn off , so change the number from 4 to 0
    Press R for reset and your done

    If you still have the problem send me the logged data

    [email protected]

    To find out how to send logged data goto the webinar section on our website and look in the PWC section

    Cheers

    Pete
    no mods at this point
    Never removed or altered Reverse
    But you were spot on! I followed your instructions and all is good.
    I got to ride this weekend and put a perminant smile on my 3yr olds face
    Thank you very much pete![/QUOTE]

    Great news
    Thanks for the feedback
    Sounds like you may have something happening with the reverse switch, no matter thou if it is all working well now

    Cheers

    Pete


Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. i need a base map
    By BlassRacing in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12-11-2010, 09:20 PM
  2. Base map opening problem ViPEC
    By WATER WOODY in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-30-2010, 06:08 PM
  3. fuel pressure reg for base maps?
    By MR MAC in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-25-2010, 08:39 PM
  4. Motec ECU Maps for RXP
    By rick xp in forum Sea Doo ECU Support
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 12-18-2009, 01:55 PM
  5. motec sho trottle problem
    By blackrxp in forum Yamaha ECU Support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-06-2009, 11:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •