Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: 1997 gp1200

Cool 1997 gp1200

Hey guys!
    So I just went and bought a 97 GP1200 with 113 hours for 3,000.. first off, is that a good price? Next question I have, when I first start it off it vibrates alot, and the front storage compartment in front of the handle bars, it shakes a lot, is that normal? Then when I'm taking off a little bit of white smoke comes out, is that normal as well? I'm thinking that it may just need a tune-up, any things I may need to look for, I'm gonna take it to a jet ski mechanic and let them check it out, but any help would be appreciated. Anything I may need to replace or anything I could get to help with performance...?
    Thanks guys!!
    John

Well it smokes because its a two stroke, it mite need the carbs tuned, thats what mite be causing the shaking or motor mounts.

so i'm new to the PWC scene but I really want to get into it, what is a flame arrestor? does that help performance wise?

Those are your air filters, or air filter

So i assume that would help with performance, how much does that kit run normally??? and is there a certain brand that I am lookng for? Any feedback to this n00b would be much appreciated!!!
    Thanks again!!!!

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by 97WaveRunnerGP1200 View Post
    Hey guys!
    So I just went and bought a 97 GP1200 with 113 hours for 3,000.. first off, is that a good price? Next question I have, when I first start it off it vibrates alot, and the front storage compartment in front of the handle bars, it shakes a lot, is that normal? Then when I'm taking off a little bit of white smoke comes out, is that normal as well? I'm thinking that it may just need a tune-up, any things I may need to look for, I'm gonna take it to a jet ski mechanic and let them check it out, but any help would be appreciated. Anything I may need to replace or anything I could get to help with performance...?
    Thanks guys!!
    John
    Welcome.