Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

GP1200 engine failure questions

Hi all

I am new to this site and skis in general, but i am also a mechanic so experienced in that department lol

Now to my problem , I have a GP1200 (65U) ski that has run flawlessly until a week ago when it lost all power. story short the rear cylinder has blown a whole in it on the exhaust side. I have disassembled the motor and i am trying to figure out why it has failed.
    I know of the common oil injection lines blocking but i can blow through all three of my lines, do these injection pumps fail at all?
    I have also disassembled the carbs and there is no cracks etc in the diaphragms and all the jets and ports appear to be clean and clear. I did notice on the failed cylinder carby that there was a slight amount of corrosion build up on one of the diaphragms?
    I have attatched a few photos to show the different parts
    Does anyone have any ideas as to why this piston may have failed? I am guessing its a fuel lean out problem the way it has blown the hole on the exhaust side.
    Unfortunately I have no idea as to the hours this motor has done as when i purchased the ski it had another motor installed but the owner in his ignorance wasnt sure how many hours it had done !!

Also a couple of other quick questions, Do the pistons look like standard size pistons?(65U printed on tom with F and arrow etc) Obiously i will measure them to find out but at the moment i am just trying to get an idea as to cost etc of the rebuild. And if i get the rear cylinder re-bored with a new over sized piston - do you think i would be safe just honing and re using the other two pistons? (i will measure piston to bore clearence to make sure its still in spec still).

the piston side picture below are of the good pistons - there seem to be slight scoring on the pistons, is this fairly expectant as to what you would see in used pistons?

Thanks greatly to anyone that can provide any help