Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Panama City/Destin dolphins

Read about the dolphins, especially round PC, but do you really see that many and can you get as close as some of the videos/pics show? Goin down next week and needing a little feedback on em.
    Appears PC is the place to see them, but do you see some around Destin as well?
    Any suggestions on how to approach them? What does or doesn't scare them?

+1
    When we took the kids on the party barge excursion around Shell Beach, PC, we were literally within 15 to 30 feet of the dolphins. Same thing I witnessed in Orange Beach: the small pod was within 30 feet of a group of about 7 to 10 skis. It seems they are quite acclimated to
    Alien visitors. I have no experience with such encounters in the Destin area.

+1
    Last summer my friends all drug there ski's down to PC from Birmingham. I rented one cause I didn't own one at the time. We hired a tour guide to kinda show us where some of the dolphins were. I can't remember the place it was right in front of Pelican Walk condos. I'll see if I can find the name. Anyways we met in the Anderson's bay. We went to a few places went sight seing and then he showed us some dolphins. Just idling the dolphins were coming anywhere form 5-10 feet of the ski's. We actually jumped off to swim with them. They would come close enough to where you could brush them with your hand wasn't skitish at all.

I'll see if I can get the name for you. I've been wanting to take my ultra down there so bad. I'm actually looking for a house down there.

Re: Panama City/Destin dolphins

Atlantic city was the spot we witnessed dolphins multiple times. There was a school of them about 5 feet from our skis! I have pictures on the go pro just have to look through the footage

+1
    We tow our ski's down to PC and I've had them come up and lay there nose on the foot well.

We love it there, long tow from Ohio. Lol

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by Dezl_Dr View Post