Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Newbie GPR girl - mixed yamalube 2m with 2w - will it be ok? // ? D plate?

This is my first post and I'm new to the jet ski world as well. I bought my first PWC this summer, a ‘04 gp1300r, and I'm attempting to do all the maintenance and servicing I can, myself. The closest service shop from me is 3 hours away. I’m not mechanically dumb, I am just used to cars and this is a whole new world for me. I’m feeling a little stupid and I have a couple questions, and I apologize if they have been answered before and I could not find it. I have been searching for hours.

I bought some oil for my ski off a website that had a deal. I was winterizing my ski today, went to top of the oil, and realized it wasn't the same color of the oil I used before. They sent me yamalube 2m and I didn't see the "m" until I noticed it was a different color. I put about ¼ to ½ quart of yamalube 2m in on top of the 2w I have been using..

I've been searching the web and some say it will not hurt it, and some say that there are different additives between the two that will cause gelling. I saw a few other posts on other sites that say the 2m can damage the catalytic converter. Some said if it was under 25% then it won’t hurt it.

Will the mixing cause damage or is it ok? If I need to change out the oil completely, I’ll need to post on the “how to” section because I cannot find how to do that either. I have two different manuals and neither of them says how. If I need to change it, can it wait until I pull it out next spring or will I need to do it right away?

It does say that the oil tank cannot be completely emptied or it can cause engine damage and I would need to bleed the oil injection pump. (again, can’t find how to do that)

I have also seen a lot of reference when searching to a “D plate”. Can you tell me what this is and if I need it? Are the instructions for that in the “how to” posts? Sorry, I can’t find any.