Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17

    head gasket 1300 05

    guys i know this is a big no go normaly but for a few runs could i get away with running a head gasket thats been used..
    although it was torqued down and used for one session it still looks good on the compression edges...
    only want three runs out with new heads to get rpm readings to get prop pitched...
    would use new but on waiting list for head gasket for two weeks and even if i order in states time customs get it and postage will be same time..


  2. #2
    My son (mohawk man) jeffsntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Belton TX
    Posts
    2,598
    +1
    1
    If I was you (meaning in a bind) and I was running aftermarket 3 piece heads I would do it, but keep a close eye on it. I would NEVER think of doing it with the stock 1 piece head. Everybodys opinion will be different, this is my .02

  3. #3
    MR. SCOVILLE UNIT SUCKMYWAKE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    ASTON, PENNSYLVANIA
    Posts
    2,836
    +1
    8
    on a whim, i have installed a used stock gasket with one layer taken off on one of my ski's . compression/leakdown test excellent. have over 20 hours on it without a glitch. but, i intend to replace it with new as soon as i get the time. its worked for me, but not sure if i would recommend it

  4. #4
    Happily Self-Employed WFO's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    12,801
    +1
    450
    I have re-used head gaskets before too.

  5. #5
    Hydrotherapy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    The Rock
    Posts
    3,347
    +1
    17
    thanks guys thats put my mind to rest a bit,will re hit gasket check comp and do three runs to re pitch...thanks...paul

  6. #6
    spud's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Oceanside, California
    Posts
    1,347
    +1
    2
    Make sure it is clean and no debris is between the layers. Apply a thin film of waterproof grease to the sealing surfaces and reuse it. I have been. Just look it over and make sure the sealant is intact and it is clean. Cleanliness is paramount.

  7. #7
    Me Hahn and Joe H204YOU's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Panama City Beach Florida
    Posts
    1,535
    I have re-used head gaskets with no problems at all using this method.
    A-Clean thoroughly then very lightly scratch both sides with #400grit
    B-Using spraycan coppercoat spray both sides with 1-medium coat
    C-Allow 20 mins. drying time for proper texture
    D-Install onto clean cyls & head and torque to specs.
    25 Hrs on my Wifes ski-no problems
    May not be a good Idea on big bores past 86mm
    Thats my 2cents and there copper

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. GPR Head Gasket: 03 vs 05
    By cougar in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-05-2009, 01:03 PM
  2. WTB 1300 head gasket
    By cmherrera in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-13-2009, 05:57 PM
  3. WTB 1300 head with head gasket
    By alex29573 in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-07-2008, 09:55 AM
  4. 1300 Head Gasket
    By YamahaPat in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-06-2008, 01:19 AM
  5. GPR 1300 head gasket
    By jpa1300 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-03-2007, 12:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •