blown seadoo lrv motor

Hi im new to pwc world and recently purchased a 2001 seadoo lrv, it was a barn find with only 50 hours of run time, after i purchased it i took it to a shop here in havasu, explained the history of the pwc and asked what i needed to do to get it running, the prior owner gave ma a rebuild kit from seadoo and new fuel lines to install, i had the shop in havasu do the work as i am not a seadoo tech. they rebuilt the carb and tested it and found the impeller was bent, I had them redo the impeller and check anything else that needed to be done also. they charged me 350.00 and i gave the guy that worked on some money for lunch. I took it out twice and it ran great. 52mph all day, the first time i took it out i went thirty miles up river and the second time down the lake about another thirty miles or so, ran perfect. the third time i took it out was to watch the jet ski races here in havasu. didnt get a mile and it bogged down no power. paddled back to the boat ramp. and took it back to the repair shop. they pulled the head and said water got into the intake via loose bolt and missing bolt on exhaust, my question is does the pipe have to come off to rebulid the carb? what do you think, the shop told me 1800 to rebuild the motor. like i said i have no experience on the pwc, but it was alot of fun when it ran.
    Last edited by robert.ottwell.5; 10-16-2012 at 02:35 AM. Reason: spelling

If i knew,...I wouldn't ask sea-one's Avatar
    Some seem to think so but i believe most do not. does it have a rubber boot covering the head pipe and the exhaust pipe mating spot? they do leak but i would think that it would cough and stumble before it would just quit. if you have some pictures of thst area or the engine with the head cap off would get you a better answer. mines just a shot in the dark