Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

Supercharger weirdness

Hi,

So, I have an 2008 fx sho. This is my first year riding it. Love it. Question though. I haven't ridden it in a bit over a month. I decided to tuck it away for the winter today. I got out the hose to warm the oil up so I could change it and circulate the stabilizer and then I realized I can't hook the hose up to the sho without the flush hose kit. As the nearest dealer is 1/2 hour away and I have a lake 10 minutes away, I decided to go for a ride in the lake and get it all warmed up.

Anyway, back to the problem. The water is probably around 50 degrees. Air outside is 60. I got the ski in the water and idled out of the harbor (maybe 5 minutes or less.) I then put it at half speed for another couple of minutes to warm it up a bit more. When I gave it full throttle, it wouldn't go above 41 mph on the dreamo and a bit over 5k rpm. Almost like the clutch had failed on the supercharger. It would surge a couple of hundred rpm for a second, acting like it wanted to go faster and then slow down again. After playing with it for a couple more minutes, the supercharger finally kicked in and ran perfectly for the next 10 minutes I had it in the water (I had to get home as I had some time constraints to get the oil changed.)

So, here's my questions. Does that seem odd to anybody? Can a supercharger show signs of going bad or is it an all-or-nothing type of deal? Does the supercharger require a certain engine temp to start working?

Admittedly, it could be something unrelated to the supercharger like spark plugs. And since the ski worked perfectly after the inital non-working state, I didn't pull the hose off the charger to see if it turned both ways.

Any help or opinions would be appreciated.

Thanks again,

Mike

+1