HELP with 2004 SUV

Let me start by saying I am NOT a mechanic

Recently purchased a 2004 SUV - never been in salt water - about 95hrs - missing really bad when purchased but compression test was good - carb not tuned right at all.

Pulled choke off - put primer pump on - got rid of OSU and went to straight mix in gas to avoid any OSU problems - had carb all re built......after this it ran perfect - very smooth and had all its power.

After I put 5 more hrs on it I was feeling very good about the dependability of the ski - then out of nowhere it just died while running 3/4 throttle - started up again and would idle fine but would die as soon as I would get going again - limped back to ramp

pulled the plugs and front plug was grey - not a good sign - checked compression and back/middle were fine but front had none. No shavings or anything on plug but clearly blew the front cylinder I am assuming?

Havent had it pulled a part yet to determine if crank is still good or what else it might be.....?

So not sure what my options are?
    can i fix that one cylinder? and is it worth it?
    or
    re-build entire motor?
    and if re-build entire motor what is the best place to purchase a rebuilt motor from? I have heard good and bad things from SBT and they seem to be the most popular?

What do I need to be concerned about when pulled apart or what do I need to look for as determining factors for fixing or completely rebuilding?

I know a guy who put over 900 hrs on one of these motors and 500 on another.... and thought this one would last much longer than it did...

Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
    first thing is pull the head off to see what happened in that cylinder, either it detonated or seized or burnt down (hold burnt through piston)