Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    I'm addicted to Polaris PWC ghostinstallations's Avatar
    +1

I am now a professional shrink-wrapper...kinda.

Well, I figured this year it would be cool to have my PWC shrink wrapped until I found out the price. 1 boat and 10 PWC at a bulk rate would have been Over $650. So i figured I would try it myself.

By the end of the day, I had it down to a science and could do a PWC in about 20-25 minutes. Wasted about 2 PWC worth of material experementing at first. I have to say, it was more work than I anticipated, but thats a reult of the number of skis I have.

Case an point, if you have a few skis, Its worth it to do it yourself. With the 8 skis and boat I had the time to do yesterday, it saved me about $450.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Shrink.jpg 
Views:	280 
Size:	69.6 KB 
ID:	287001

Brick Township, New Jersey, United States
    holy shit you got a whole navy going up there?

+1
    Great Job! Where did you get your material and what did you use for heat?

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by cascivic View Post
    holy shit you got a whole navy going up there?
    LOL, LOL

+1
    I too would love to know more about how this is done.

Does the plastic come in a single, large enough sheet to cover the area shrink-wrapped? Or does it go on in pieces and the pieces stick together to cover the whole area?

How do you heat it? Is it easy to melt through?

Looks like quite a fleet.

Cheers!

+1
    Looks like they turned out good! I still think you should sell some jetskis and buy a snowmobile...

Banned User
    +1
    Just get a good wetsuit and keep riding. I am still riding here in Wisconsin.

+1
    Good job Brad, but you forgot to shrink wrap the trailers

+1
    Basically they have 6 mm and 7 mm wrap. The 7 is much more durable. They sell shrink tape for making vents or using to stick things together. You need a propane torch ....hand held gun or wand. Runs on propane.