Page 1 of 28 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

+1

How to repair Yamaha hull gouges

Guys,

I am not an expert but was forced to learn this on my own. I think some of you can benefit a little from me sharing my experience. I learned everything by asking questions from some forum members on boatdesign.net and pwctoday.com...First one is a professional place of real boaters and designers...Learned alot and got lots of help..

Just to clear things up, Yamaha hull is made of SMC (Sheet Molding Compound) then it gets painted. Seadoo is gelcoat. Gelcoat is much more durable and scratch resistant than paint.

To repair an SMC hull you will need either a SMC resin such as Evercoat SMC Fiberglass Resin or West System Epoxy.

Here's a reply to me seeking help from one of the top companies in the business.

Hello,

Your Jet-Ski is most likely made from a material called SMC, it is a sheet of chopped strand glass with the resin and release in it. it gets put in the jet ski hull mold and heated to cure. It has the release agent through and through so its difficult to bond to. Evercoat makes a resin called SMC, it has a MMA component that can etch through the release layer. Its available at automotive parts stores. This is the resin that we recommend, unfortunately we do not sell it. Its made by ITW and is called Evercoat SMC.

Any type of chopped strand fiberglass will work for your project. sand your repair smooth and paint with an automotive paint that matches your existing color.

Regards,

Tomas Grim
    Sales Engineer,
    Express Composites.

I will continue on this later if there's any interest here...

More to come..

+1
    Absolutely. This is a subject that is barely touched here on Greenhulk and should be made "sticky" if we can get it right. Might change the subject to "How to Restore/Repair Nanoxcel". Or something like that. Cause old school Yamaha is different obviously.

+1
    -
    Last edited by VinceC; 11-14-2012 at 06:41 PM.

+1