Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Polaris sl 780 1996 restore

Ok Im Very new to jetskis i'm 17 years old never driven one i'm quite a good mechanic and i learn and understand quickly I have a polaris sl 780 identical to this it has been 14 years in the garage never used. it was barely used just barely the exterior is just brand new it was my fathers jetski and he just stopped using it. I dont know how to get it started .
    Things i have done :
    - Uninstalled the fuel tank and drained the 14 year old fuel .
    - removed the jet pump and took to bore it since the tunnel shrinked some how and the prop inside doesnt rotate
    - removed the cooling manifoled
    - removed plugs and put some wd-40 on the cylinders and rotated the engine by hand
    - hooked up a new battry and tried to start it. starter works perfectly
    What should i do next?
    Thank you people in advance

Boise, ID
    Probably the carbs. Or it could be the carbs But most's the carbs.

Seriously, though. Here's where you start:

Thank you that helps soso much

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    near Toronto, Canada
    Quote Originally Posted by Polaris sl 780 View Post
    Thank you that helps soso much
    Welcome to the Hulk

If the machine has been sitting untouched for 14 years then you should not assume ANYTHING is still good. Stuff may LOOK good on the outside but have issues on the inside.

Age alone will harden, crack and degrade hoses, fuel lines, rubber and plastic parts. Grease can dry out and become useless, oils can drain away and allow steel parts to rust internally.

It sounds like this machine may ave been used in salt water, if indeed the jet pump liner had bulged inwards and seized th impeller.

In addition to all the stuff covered in my signature link below, consider these points;