Winterization Question

I am new to the sport and picked up my first machine a month or two ago, a 2001 XPL. Previous owner winterized it October/November 2011 and hasn't used it since. I live in NJ and dont plan to do anything with it until spring. Should I fully winterize it again? Or is there an abbreviated winterizing i should complete? I read that gas stabilizer is good fro two years, although bottle says one year. Has anyone let their gas sit for two years or should i drain the tank and put in fresh gas & stabilizer?

Thanks.

-john

Brick Township, New Jersey, United States

Winterization Question

Quote Originally Posted by johna56 View Post
    I am new to the sport and picked up my first machine a month or two ago, a 2001 XPL. Previous owner winterized it October/November 2011 and hasn't used it since. I live in NJ and dont plan to do anything with it until spring. Should I fully winterize it again? Or is there an abbreviated winterizing i should complete? I read that gas stabilizer is good fro two years, although bottle says one year. Has anyone let their gas sit for two years or should i drain the tank and put in fresh gas & stabilizer?

Thanks.

-john
    Did u run in when you bought it? If so I would leave the fuel and run it and re fog it both thru the carbs and down the spark plug holes. If you didn't run it I would just take the plugs out and spray some fogging oil down it and try to spin it with a rag over the holes and be done with it. Next spring I would siphon the fuel probably. Where you located in nj? I'm in brick