Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What Sponsons for GP1300R

Hey guys,

Would like to start by saying hi and great forum you have here.

Im new to the ski world with buying my first ski ever as the gp1300r its 100% stock.

So far loving the ski but i have found it to be alil unstable at time and its nearly impossible to ride 2 ppl.

Any way i wanna have a look at doing some basic mods for now mostly improve handling and improve the ski for longer lasting.

So after reading over the forum i plan on doing the following

Pump Tunnel reinforcement -R&D Kit i think i have had alook over the DIY kit but not 100% sure

change grate intake to hopefully stainless steel 800

change ride plate (not sure what plate yet havnt got that far)

and also change the sponsons - which brings me here now.

im not too sure what sponsons to get and why

i ride mostly in small/med choppy water (Adelaide Metro Beaches) but also do plan taking on smooth river water.

speed it not a worry for me at this stage but handling is.

i am after something to make it more stable with 2 riders but something that will also give me shape turns and wave jumping

any input into sponsons would be much appreciated and if this topic is covered somewhere in the forum i am sorry i have tried searching but no luck but please point me in right direction

thanks tonz

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by tonz18 View Post
    Pump Tunnel reinforcement -R&D Kit i think i have had alook over the DIY kit but not 100% sure
    Your going to want to update the brackets and get cocos pump reinforcement or add some fiber glass yourself.

change grate intake to hopefully stainless steel 800
    No, only if you are chasing top speed. That grate will give you a worse hole shot as well. Go with the 1200 grate it's better all around.

change ride plate (not sure what plate yet havnt got that far)