Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

seadoo rxpx 2008 cavitating problems! help :(

hi, my names andrew and im new to jetskis and recently purchased a 2008 seadoo rxpx 255.

when i purchased it my mate test rode it and informed me it was cavitating and it needed a wear ring. a week after i got it i got the wear ring changed and it was running perfect no more cavitating. i was a happy camper!

a week later i took it to a lake a couple hours away. rode for 5 hours and all was good! until going to the boat ramp i heard the sound of a rock flicking around in the pump. i tried to reverse and the ski would just vibrate and not move anywhere. tried forward and same thing. so i turned the ski off and winched it on the trailer. i then started it off the trailer n revved fine. so i assumed what ever was stuck in there fell out. anyways so i took it out a few days later and it was running alright but it was cavitating again and i just changed the wear ring a week before that.

hot weather forced me to leave it n take it out like that 2 days ago and still cavitating but running fine apart from that. last night i pulled the pump out to inspect the wear ring and the prop. heres the photos of what it looked like.

Attachment 288466
    Attachment 288465
    Attachment 288467
    Attachment 288468

i flipped the wear ring over and got rid of that little nick in it. and sharpened up all the blades on the prop and re installed it. do you think this is what was causing the cavitating?

just before i reinstalled it i noticed that the little black fins in the hole that the drive shaft comes through are snapped/damaged. could this be causing cavitating? are these fins important or does it not matter if they are snapped? (they are just made of plastic) can i leave them like that or do they need replacing/fixing? can they be fixed yourself or does the shop need to do it? heres the picture of them!

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	20121210_184258.jpg 
Views:	485 
Size:	83.1 KB 
ID:	288470