Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88

    2006 gp 1300 breathing

    Hello all , I would like to know does the gp 1300 get enough air thru the standard air vents . My ski is a little modded . If it does not what are my options , i ride in the ocean so i have to be carefull of water injestion . Thanks


  2. #2
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,049
    +1
    238
    Power filters and free air mods will allow it to breathe more. Riding in the ocean I don't think I'd do any of the mods mentioned. It's not work the risk vs reward

  3. #3
    Almost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cape May, NJ
    Posts
    778
    +1
    73
    You can open up the other side vent up. Not sure how the intake looks on a 1300R but on my 1200R I run a gutted air box with a flame arrester attached to the box removing the silencer portion. My one Intake duct is facing down slightly lower before the flame arrester. I made sure the opening of the duct was slightly lower then the arrestor incase water does make it down the duct it's not emptying right on top of the arrestor. I chose not to remove the ducting because I figured it would be easier to control the water intake and force it to the bottom of the hull instead of it dumping salt water all over from the vents in the front.

    You can look also look in to alternative ways to get fresh air in the hull. Some where on here is a write up on how to install PVC caps in to the back of your seat that can be screwed open when you are on flat water and want a little more or closed up if you encounter any rough stuff.

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88
    cheers guys i already have the power filters , no issues yet .

  5. #5
    novice duudu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Constanta, Romania, Romania
    Posts
    98
    +1
    5
    Also , flo-rites, open up the intakes and fit a second bilge pump.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88
    Gees must let a lot of water in to put another bilge pump in . I am getting some versi plugs aswell. Never heard of the flo-rites till you mentioned , do they let water in ?

  7. #7
    novice duudu's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Constanta, Romania, Romania
    Posts
    98
    +1
    5
    Hmmm. No , not much. But the way I see it , you keep the first pump as OEM and second pump on a switch. When wave jumping I always set the pump to on and forget about it.
    Drains 4-5 amps (4ax13v=50 w ish) which is low enough not to matter. Be sure to add a led indicator to show when the pump is on.

  8. #8
    zac unless your going big bore your fine! Dont start drilling holes in your hull!

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    88
    cool thanks for all the advice .

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. gp 1300 2006 pump vs 2004 pump
    By zacc300 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-05-2012, 09:39 AM
  2. 2006 GP 1300 Display Issues
    By Private in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-27-2010, 05:29 PM
  3. F/S 2006 Yamaha Gp 1300 R
    By 20rxp04 in forum Yamaha 2 Stroke Skis
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 10:02 PM
  4. Stock GP 1300 speed.
    By Rio Vista in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-02-2006, 12:48 AM
  5. 05 gp 1300
    By jetskibill9999 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-15-2006, 05:02 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •