Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    +1

Converting sealed pump bearings to oil bath

Anyone considered converting their sealed pump bearings to an oil or grease bath? All it would take is to remove the rubber dust covers and fill the carrier with pump oil? Seems like a better system to me than relying on a couple of dust cover holding grease in. What you guys think?

Banned User
    +1
    It has been done. I think beerdart did it on one of his projects. Not really necessary to do in my opinion though. As lone as your pump seals are good either way works out.

+1
    The only issue may be tapping in a drain/fill plug in the cone. I think it may be a bit thin. Might give it try though.

+1
    I have been running the oil/grease bath for three years in the SLT and two years in the MSX no problems. I do not add a fill port just a use a thinned down grease mix. Prior to this the MSX would shit out bearings every two rides now that boat with the power would suck water on takeoff and the stock sealed bearings would rust. With the oil/grease mix I still get water but its displaced by the mix.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by Mighty Mouse View Post
    Anyone considered converting their sealed pump bearings to an oil or grease bath? All it would take is to remove the rubber dust covers and fill the carrier with pump oil? Seems like a better system to me than relying on a couple of dust cover holding grease in. What you guys think?
    You can convert from grease, as Beerdart has done.

Keep in mind that there are many, many Polaris watercraft running around with the stock bearing grease configuration.

Good quality bearings that are themselves properly greased, and of course good quality shaft seals riding on an undamaged stub shaft should provide years of service.