Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49
  1. #1
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,038
    +1
    672

    How do I align a new cam in a new head?

    my old head is off and the crank is locked with #3 @ TDC. My cam is locked in the old head but I'm not using the old head or the old cam.

    How do I ensure proper timing with the new cam so it's locked in like the old one?


  2. #2
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    Heres some pictures that way when we explain our you ask questions you can use references. I kinda cheat I mark the sproket and chain in a few places, Lossen up rockers Pull old one out put new in reverse process . I think you can see where I marked in a few places this was my old ski a couple years ago when i was playing around with a couple of different cams.
    Oh shit more Importantly First stuff something down gulley you do Not want the washer or the three cam sprocket screws going down under
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0470.jpg 
Views:	98 
Size:	83.2 KB 
ID:	289506   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0027.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	100.9 KB 
ID:	289507   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0467.jpg 
Views:	108 
Size:	84.8 KB 
ID:	289508  

  3. #3
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    The cam will only lock in one place.

  4. +1 by:


  5. #4
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,038
    +1
    672
    Quote Originally Posted by BigDaddyRXP View Post
    The cam will only lock in one place.
    the locking tool only locks it in one specific location?

    Schrabbert: I can't see the reference lines in my garage. I don't have a pretty yellow cam sprocket.

  6. #5
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    Correct

  7. #6
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    Perfect then get some tie straps mark the sprocket and chain dont matter about the cam cant lock it down cause you need to pull it out. as long as you mark the sprocket and chain when you put the new one in the sprocket can only go On one way. Now you do have a slot on the cam sprocket neutral, advance and retard like me. I would probally reccomend straight up(slots with screws centered) to start you can always go back and adjust later

    Oh by a dam flashlight Lol

    Hi Big Daddy

  8. #7
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,038
    +1
    672
    I didn't mark the chain and sprocket. It's already out

  9. #8
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    danielson wax on wax off lol. ok so plan b install new cam did you lock crank or are you sure 3 is up like a viagra pecker. If so you can put chain on sprocket as to which when you put it on cam properly (only one way that the slots will all be centered. if your off a nudge more one tooth to right or left. Now mind you thats if you know your crank is correct if it is you will be ok. But never the less once you get that centered we can reverify the timming prior to you trying to start it we dont need a thermal break down. Never assume timming is ever right always double and triple check specially when you just rip shit out lol

  10. #9
    imp0ster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Palm Harbor, FL
    Posts
    5,038
    +1
    672
    3 is up and I ran it back and forth on the SC nut til the crank lock was in as far as it would go then the cam lock dropped in a bit further.

    I'm turning this bitch over by hand before starting it lol.

  11. #10
    Nothin' better than Doo'in it! BigDaddyRXP's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Tampa Bay, FL
    Posts
    9,202
    +1
    673
    Quote Originally Posted by imp0ster View Post
    I didn't mark the chain and sprocket. It's already out
    If you have a crank and cam locking tool... you don't need to mark anything. Rotate the cam in your replacement head until your cam tool drops into place, then torque it down to the block. With your crank locked in place, install the gear on the cam with the chain on it. Note the orientation of the 1503 marks with the head, and jump the chain however many teeth it takes to get them to line up with the head surface. You will probably find that two different teeth will work, pick the one that doesn't put your bolts right at the end of the slots in the cam gear. Make sure you have tension on the chain as your checking your alignment marks.

  12. +1 by:


Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. How do u install a new cam????
    By rxp747 in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2011, 04:24 PM
  2. How do I fix this scratch / gouge in my hull?
    By Mike94ZLT1 in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10-10-2009, 10:53 PM
  3. How do you know you have gas in your oil?
    By jtmajors in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-15-2009, 09:25 PM
  4. How do you align an engine
    By jeff12pv in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-05-2008, 08:41 AM
  5. HELP! How do I take out the waterbox in my Speedster??
    By FastSpeedster215 in forum Sea Doo Sport Boats
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-26-2008, 02:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •