Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

98 GSX-L R&D Power Plenum and 49cc Head Questions..

I've got a red deck/silver engine gsx-l.. Bought the ski used, so far as I know as it sits now: stock grate, stock ride plate, stock prop, aftermarket single air filters (dunno the brand), stock carbs, stock exhaust, umi race bars.

I wanted to get a little more mid and topend out of it and was considering the R&D power plenum and maybe a 49cc rec head. Didn't know if I need a rejet or anything to compliment this setup. I'm also not dead set on these items. I've looked at the solas concord 15/21 prop and pump wedge also. I don't want to get into the motor if I don't have to.. I'm new to the 951s, so any help is appreciated.

+1
    If you already have aftermarket flame arrestors, I wouldn't get a R&D power plenum. If yours are the single type then they are more than likely prok/Fly Flame arrestors which are better IMO. I believe upping the compression will give you better low end power and some mid. To get more top end an impellar would give you that. To get more Rpms you would have to do a pipe and or water injection system/rev limiter. Doing a pipe will breed a whole lot of tuning. Pipes eat pistons if not perfectly tuned. I would get an impellar that is rated for your stock engine and be done with it. If you go too high on pitch you will deto a piston. Believe me I have done it lmao!!! Hope this helps ya bud.

silver motor with white pipe - open flame arrestors with atleast 85 lows and 165 highs - repitched prop to bring max rpm's up to 7000 - on an otherwise stock boat

And since this is a used, but new boat to you, remove and clean the carbs.. Dirty carbs are the number one cause for most of the issues and failures on these boats..

Mikuni Carb Rebuild Kits are highly suggeted