Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need Advice

+1

Need Advice

Hey guys, I need some advice. First, my ski is a 2009 FX SHO, bone stock it ran 68 mph on GPS. Well so far I've done the Ribbon Delete, FF Exhaust, Riva Power Filter Intake System and R&D Anticavitation Cone. I have a R&D Intake Grate but haven't put it on yet and I plan on getting Jim to modify my stock Ride Plate. But here's my issue, when I tested the above combination I actually lost speed, I dropped to 66 MPH and the ski seemed like it was hitting the rev limiter at the hit of the throttle. Somebody told me it was prob. hitting the boost limiter, not the rev limiter. I'm not experienced enough riding skis to know what is what, but in comparsion it feels like I'm at the drag strip in my race car, and when the light turns green it just spins coming out of the hole then finally catches traction, that's what it feels like on the ski. Is my ski making more power now and it's overpowering the prop at the hit of the throttle ? How can this explain my 2 mph loss in speed ? I've been told I need to repitch my prop to a 13/21. Then I've been told I need a R2 or R3 reflash to remove my boost limiter and raise RPM....I'm so confused...lol Can somebody chime in and help please, trying to sort this before riding season.

+1
    With the stock wheel you do not need the reflash. Also only needed if you want to raise the limits. I would only do it if going to a higher boost wheel. I think that I was running a 13/22 prop with your setup. When sending your ride plate to Jim send your prop and he can set it up for you as well. I am getting him to bend a friends for me with your same setup.

+1
    Can you remember what your MPH was my setup and with the 13/22 prop ? Will this eliminate that "spinning" out of the hole effect when I hit my throttle ?

+1