Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What's a good GPS???

What a decent one on the market? Do they come with river maps or sectional maps covering different parts of the US?

Im new to the GPS thing so bear with me.

This is the one I use: www.thegpsstore.com/Detail-Garmin-eTrex-Legend.asp

This subject has been discussed many times so if you do a search you will find lots of info. Basically it depends on what you want - The more $ the more features. I've owned two so far, www.thegpsstore.com/detail-magellan-explorist-210.asp (actually I had the 200) & the eTrex & both were good units.

I sold the Magellan for the eTrex because the eTrex had a few more options like "Max Speed" & I also liked the "Trip Meter" layout better.

Bottom line, if you just want speed & distance functions you can get a GPS less than $100 but if you want the navigational features & internal memory then it will cost more.

Good Luck,

Try to find one that's waterproof. I'm using the Magellan Meridian Marine which is waterproof.

I have the Garmin 76 Series Only because there a perfect fit in the seadoo glove box.

Quote Originally Posted by lafjax View Post
    Try to find one that's waterproof. I'm using the Magellan Meridian Marine which is waterproof.

The eTrex & Magellan units I listed are waterproof as are most of the higher model # units in their respective lineups. Go here to read more:
    www.thegpsstore.com.

I'm kind of a big deal SeanCucf's Avatar

Thumbs up

I've got the Garmin Etrex Vista Cx....

-waterproof (doesn't float) I think 3ft for 30 min. requirement.
    -color
    -Micro SD mem slot... (64 meg card included)
    -basemap is VERY BASIC (I already knew that)

software is expensive, but City Navigator, and Bluecharts can be found online.(still a pretty penny). The software is piracy protected...

I like the maps..I use them on the Jeep and Doo. They're not necessary, but it's fun. Has TONS of features and settings..