Kent England

Tune up after rebuild run in

im new to carbs what's the easy/best way to tune your carbs I've had full rebuild its all ran in now I just want to know how to tune them right I've read some the guides on here but just seem to lose me lol
    can someone help please last thing I wanna do is blow it up after have the build
    also I'm going run 40-1 is that ok

North Central Arkansas
    We will need to know what machine and engine, also what mods or stock.

Kent England
    Hi there yes might of helped lol!

Well it's xp 951 1999 0.5mm over size pistons, solas prop, modified carbs, air filters

I'm just not 100% sure on how to tune them, I had the rebulid done last year ran 2 tanks petrol at 60/1 now iv gone to 40/1
    The mechanic said I then have to fine tune the ski that's we're I am lost I was wondering if anyone could help with the screws from seated and how many turns on each screw??

Sorry to sound stupid but I just ain't 100% sure about carbs
    Thanks Toby

what jetting do you have in the carbs? How were the carbs modified-- pumps still working properly and timed correctly? Have all your fuel lines been replaced-- selector switch bypassed, replaced or atleast cleaned out? Internal carb filters cleaned, new check valves on the fuel pump body? New sediment bowl assemblly is highly recommended or atleast clean the filter and pressure test the bowl-- should easily hold 25 psi for 10 minutues. What design solas impeller and what pitch? How many rpm will the ski currently run on a quick full throttle 5 second or so run? What was the piston to cylinder clearance set at? Were the rave blades clearanced for the over bore?

Why was the motor rebuilt and how did it run before it was rebuilt-- any other changes made to your setup at the time of "rebuild"?
    Last edited by jim; 01-31-2013 at 10:56 AM.