Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

? about nozzle sizes, degrees, and reverse gates etc. plz help noob

Ok, I actually have a Yamaha 212ss boat.
    I am trying to test if going from a 3 degree nozzle to a 5 degree nozzle will increase speed.
    I have a 3 degree nozzle, 85mm. I believe it is the same as a XL800. 66V W1 I measured it to be at 3*
    EXCEPT.....................
    I have to have the holes tapped on top and bottom, not on the sides because we don't have the trimmable pumps on the boats.

I actually was doing this to TEST if that is a viable option for our boats. If so, it could really shake things up over here. Currently, we can add trim tabs, but we have no way of bringing our bow out of the water, and, at 3* trim set, we plow through the water, sacrificing top speed. I have looked a a LOT of video and taken a lot of measurements on it all, and I believe a 5 degree pump would be enough to make a decent difference.

So, the question comes down to this:
    Do I buy some 5 degree nozzles? I have only found ones that are 87 mm, not 85 mm.
    Will that make a difference?
    Should I just jump ahead and get the trimmable nozzles for testing?
    What then do I do about the reverse buckets? will they work on the boat's setup? I am sure I can manufacture something no problem really, but what's going to be easiest?

Some may say that the extra 1-2 mph won't be worth it.
    I would say that trim tabs are stupid expensive, and only bring nose down, which we have too much of already.
    Also, I would say that individual pump trim would be awesome for wake sports such as wake-surfing which is HUGE in our community.

Help me out guys!
    Lee AKA Speedling

+1
    Sorry that I posted something outside your realm of knowledge. Thought there would be SOME insight on the nozzles.
    I'll let you know what I find...... when I have funds to buy something.

+1