Thread: New

New

Hi Guys
    I have a new Problem with coolant in oil:
    I pressure tested the system to the best of my ability. Iím a real novice at this engine trouble shooting stuff, Iím a respiratory therapist by trade. What I found is the system will not hold any pressure, so I pulled the engine AGAIN and checked the just the oil cooler. It seems to hold will hold 15lbs of pressure without dropping for a sustained period of time. I then put the engine back together again on my work bench and pumped a continuous stream of air into the overflow bottle while looking for air leaks. The way I did this was by using some smoke and looking for it to move around. I found the smoke being sucked in between the block and the gear cover up in area by the top of the water pump. What should I try next? Is there a way to determine whether the block or gear cover is warped? It would be devastating to find out the block is warped after having it bored and honed. Again thanks for all the good advice.

+1
    Hi Tim,

Not understanding smoke getting sucked in?

Pressurize the system and spray soapy water out of a spray bottle (dish washing liquid is fine) over the engine. this technique will give you visual indication of external leaks by blowing bubbles.

I have my compressor pushing air through the overflow bottle at a constant 12 psi. That 12 psi never builds up any pressure, what I’m finding is air leaking out the hose from the oil tank to the air box. I hope this tells me I have a leak in the seal of the water pump and the air flow from the water pump to the oil tank is pulling air through a bad gasket job on the front cover. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

+1
    That sounds logical. Your pressure is getting from the coolant system to the oil system and purging out the oil vapor recirc emission line.