Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

Leaving Jetski in Saltwater for a Few Days

Hi, I'm new at this so please pardon the newbie questions. I will be making a trip to the coast in a few weeks and the place we're staying has a boat launch as well as a dock. I have the options of docking them at the end of each day or pulling them out. I know the obvious advantage of pulling them out, flushing and cleaning each day. Would I be doing any great harm in leaving them in the water for three days and then pulling/flushing/cleaning at the end of the third day? Or should I just play it safe and pull them out each day and clean them up.?

+1
    Will 3 days do "great harm"? No.
    Will you start to get some corrosion? Yes, depending on whether the parts are coated or not.
    Just make sure you clean them out really well; there are some products for this like Salt-Away and others which GH members use to reduce corrosion. Salt water is a bitch, no doubt about it.

+1
    I personally would pull them out of the water each day. Don't be lazy.

+1
    I would pull them out, if nothing else for the reason that they might sink. I've seen that a lot. And of course the damage SW does and also gas is cheaper at the gas station.

+1
    Quote Originally Posted by skipSC View Post
    I would pull them out, if nothing else for the reason that they might sink. I've seen that a lot. And of course the damage SW does and also gas is cheaper at the gas station.
    Good point about the cheaper gas. I'm also concerned about theft. I think pulling/cleaning each day is in order. I do plan to use salt away and hopefully will have the engine coated with something like CRC 656. Thanks for the advice guys.

+1
    Fluid Film works great to spray the engine and pump with if you can pick some up in time for your trip. I also recommend Salt-A-Way, I use it after every ride.

+1
    Turtle wax car wash is as good as salt away. It binds with the salt.

+1