Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Which would you rather? 1994 Polaris Sl 750 or 1997 Polaris SL 700?

I'm new to PWC's and I just got a 1997 Polaris Sl 700 and a 1994 Polaris SL 750. Both are currently not running. I would like to keep one and sell the other but which one would you choose? Both are in great shape with no damage to the hulls. The 1994 750 currently cranks but doesn't have spark. The 1997 700 doesn't crank (won't know until I take off the head to see what's wrong). But out of the 2, which would you keep and which would you sell? I really like the SL750 however its also 3 years older than the 700. I know the 750 has the Fuji motor and the 700 has the domestic motor but which engine was more reliable? Which one is easier to maintain? Thanks for any help or opinions!

Banned User
    +1
    I think the 700 is an awesome little motor. You will have a higher top end speed most likely with the 700. The bottom end acceleration will probably be snappier with the 750 however. The domestics with the updated ignition are reliable, not so much if it has the original ignition. Ignition updates should soon be available according to a little birdie. If it were me I would pick the 700, but neither would be a bad choice.

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by BryanP View Post
    I think the 700 is an awesome little motor...
    That 700 twin is a well understood engine, and can be tuned nicely.

Excellent fuel economy too.

Welcome to the hulk