Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    +1

strange rattle ? Newbie help

Hi folks, first post so here goes. I have just picked up a really cheap polaris slx (think its a 780 ? but not sure). This had been stood for many years. Anyway as its my first ski I found this site and with all the posts here have managed to get it running. It starts on the button and runs sweet now having rebuilt the carbs and replaced all fuel lines. Boy was it dirty in there. The whole thing has cleaned up realy well now. Anyway not being able to run it for very long and having no easy access to water to drop it onto for testing I have hit a bit of a brick wall. Now when its running there is a metalic rattle (sounds like a loose pulley on a car). Its definately not a nasty engine noise but I can not for the life of me trace it in the small running time window. I am not convinced it coming from the engine it feels more propulsion end. So am I hunting a normal running sound or not.I am a motor engineer by trade so have a fair idea but these things are strange compared to cars and outboards.

+1
    Welcome to Green Hulk!

Glad to hear you did your homework researching and fixing up your ski right. That's the key.

The noise you describe sounds like the normal Polaris rattle. This is most noticeable out of the water and barely noticeable when idling around in the water.
    This "rattle" is normal... my SLT 750 does it. And I recall my old 780 did too.

Once you get a chance to put your ski in the water and enjoy the fruits of your labor... you'll forget all about it.

Cheers!

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Welcome

Did you work through the recommended maintenance stuff outlined in my signature links?

In particular, did you remove the jet pump and grease the drive shaft splines?

The normal Polaris 'jet pump rattle' can often be made less noisy by greasing the driveline splines.

There are several other things to check/maintain while the jet pump is out.