Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
    +1

Troubleshooting 2003 FX140 Will Not Start

Hey all. I'm relatively new to the ski scene and actually, I purchased mine more for fishing than for pure water play.
    I have pretty good mechanical skills (I have built a mess of race car engines; Chevy, Rodeck, Keith Black, etc. and I build turbo motorcycles; Kawasaki), I have minimal electronics and tuning skills (have Mega/Microsquirted a couple of bikes without assistance). But, this ski is making me crazy.

Here's the deal.
    Battery is hot. ECU beeps twice, engine cranks decently, and ski only burps and farts through the exhaust. No intake sneezing, but no starting either. New plugs. Fire seems a bit weak, but is present at all cables. Wires on correctly. Air cleaner removed. Plenty of fuel. Pops and burps a few times then seems to flood out. I can smell fuel, but she quits trying at all. Let her rest ten minutes and she'll do exactly the same.

She was running perfectly when cleaned up and parked in Mid-November. I've been trying to start her since January, but only recently went and got a set of plugs. I figured that's all she needed, but no joy.
    Thanks in advancefor the help.
    Last edited by Rev Ryder; 03-11-2013 at 06:55 PM. Reason: Missing spaces

+1
    Have you checked the compression. did you winterize it i am assuming it doesn't get that cold in El Camp Texas, does it have old gas or was it replaced.

+1
    I would get a long dropper and squirt a few drops of fuel in 2 or 3 cylinders. If it then fires for a second or two you know you have a fuel problem.
    Hope we're not jinxing my FX for first spring start.

+1
    That would be a "No" on winterizing. Yeah, not that cold here, but I didn't go out in December or January, so there were about two months.
    Gas is not too fresh, but my motorcycles are running on the same "vintage" stuff without issue.