Stereo help please

HI, I am a new user and have been reading thread after thread about adding a stereo to my 2004 GTI sea Doo. And, I am still not sure on what to do.

My dad brought 4 6.5 alpine sps 600 speakers and a pyle 800 w amp with Ipod adapter for his boat, and then upgraded to a JL system so I have the 4 speakers and amp. I want to add another battery. Might only have one pair of speakers installed since the lack of room.

I have received two different opinions on this.

Get another deep cycle battery and have the stereo power only off that and when it dies, it dies. Nothing connecting to anything but battery to stereo. And recharge it at home.

Or

Get a Perko battery switch with 1, 2, 1+2, and have it charged by alternator. But, someone told me that with the 2 strokes, it will overwork my alternator. I want to listen to my stereo with the engine off, and have it run off the second battery. And recharge while running. I am not good at understanding which way is best. And, also recommending getting a ACR instead of a Perko switch or an stinger battery isolator with a perko switch.

Can someone please explain to me the best setup and what exactly I need.

Thank you, I am sorry for posting this since there are many threads about this, I just want to make sure I don't end up with a dead battery on the lake or that I killed my alternator.

+1
    Welcome to the forum! I always thought about doing something like this, never really looked into it.

I think between the two options, it really depends on how much you plan on using the stereo. If you don't plan on using it for hours on end you could just get another deep cycle battery and recharge at home like you said. If it were me I would probably do it this way, seems much simpler.