Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    +1

Stupidest move while working on PWC?

So here we are, so close to riding season you can almost taste it (at least in Midwest US).

To lighten up the air a bit, post the dumbest thing you (now) wish you hadn't done while working on a PWC or boat.

I'll start it - I was having carb and/or ignition troubles on a standup Yamaha Superjet, and was experimenting with which cylinder was giving me the trouble. I pulled one of the spark plug boots while the machine was idling to see if there was a change...unfortunately at the time I was standing in about 6 inches of water on the dock ramp I had to literally yank my shoulder back to separate the lead from my hand. DOH!!! I won't be doing that again

+1
    Oh my god nice!...Mine is not working on one although I needed to after I was a total newb when I bought my first ski a Yamaha XLT1200...I was new to the sport and had a friend help me find one who had been riding for years and years but apparently that is all he did...did not do a compression test or test drive and guess what after purchase and first ride...boom! Only saving grace was a certified check I had for deposit that I stopped payment on...worked out a deal to rebuild engine...anyway live an learn wish I found this site before I made purchase but at least I can do regular maintenance on my VXR now!

+1
    While pulling the intake manifold on my FZR I disconnected the pressurized gas line and sprayed gas in my face and eyes.... I managed the wrap the gas line in a rag with my closed eyes before washing the gas off my face.

+1