Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

2003 GTX 37 MPH Tops?

Hey guys whats up...been reading here for a while and have gathered a lot of useful info, thanks for that.

I seem to have a problem that you guys may have seen/been asked about before. My stock 2003 Seadoo GTX (non supercharged) is going about 35mph top on the seadoo speedo and it definitely feels like 35 and nothing over. In 2 uses the fastest its gone is 37, It will not go faster than that. I weigh 177. I recently purchased it and Ive taken it out 2 times and both times it ran the same. The more I read on here about speeds the more I realize that I dont think im getting the full speed out of mine. The only key I was given is a yellow one, Im pretty new to this stuff but I plan to stick around as I love it already. Does anyone know if theres something I can check or what the problem seems to be?

Thanks in advance.

The first thing I would do is change the plugs. How many rpm's are you turning at your top speed?

+1
    i mean it sounds like wrong key but im pretty sure the yellow key is the fast key. lol lets see what everyone else has to say.

I should have paid more attention to the RPM's but when riding I was thinking that the 35mph was normal. Then I got on here and read that it isnt
    When I did see the RPMS one time they were at the 7k range at WOT. I need to keep a close eye on that next time I ride it.
    As for the key, yeah I was thinking maybe the wrong key but before posting and asking that question i searched and seemed to find that the yellow key is indeed the unrestricted key.
    On a side note it started fine every time with no problems, planing out does take a while though.

Additional Info:

On 4/6/2012 the ski was serviced at the dealer, here is what was done as per the receipt at 57hrs on the reading. It has 61 hrs now.
    1 Filter Oil
    2 Semi Oil 4T
    3 Spark plug NGK
    1 Lube-Bombar
    1 YB30LB Battery

+1