Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83

    IBR Module Error and codes--found my problem

    Well long story short my IBR module was acting up and was replaced under warrenty a few months ago. I was riding today and got IBR module failure and some engine codes: U0129, U16AS, and U16A4. From Riva Site:

    U16A4 - ECU TIMED OUT WAITING FOR iBR ON CAN BUS
    U16A5 - ECU TIMED OUT WAITING FOR iBR ON CAN BUS
    U0129 - CAN COMMUNICATIONS BETWEEN ERROR AND WCM iBR

    So I tried taking the key off and waiting, still got error. Checked IBR connections all is well and no wire harnesses touching exhaust. I then check my fuse box by the battery and was like . My fuse box broke off the cheap plastic connections and was flopping around hitting the gas tank. I then take the cover off and a 30amp fuse falls out. At first I thought it was a spare but then checked the diagram and fuse locations it was the 30amp fuse labeled "charge." I pulled the IBR 30 amp fuse as well and then replaced (it was not burnt) and then re-inserted the 30 Amp "Charge" fuse. I started the ski up and errors were gone and IBR working. I then used a bungee chord I had to hold the fuse box in place to ride back to the ramp. Figured I would share this in case anyone else gets these codes etc. According to Riva site it says "take your ski to authorized Sea-doo Dealer." I just need to order the part, "electrical component support"-only $15.99-not bad.


  2. #2
    800AMSOIL4U's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Morgan Hill, CA
    Posts
    5,024
    +1
    132
    Great find. Thanks for the info.

  3. +1 by:


  4. #3
    Olomana's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Tahiti, French Polynesia
    Posts
    1,414
    +1
    76
    Sea Doo with IBR are very picky when it comes to AMPs.
    A bad battery with bad connection can trigger false alarm when using IBR/Neutral ect...

    Friend had issue whenever pulling IBR.
    Battery and corroded connection was the issues

    Thanks for sharing!

  5. #4
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    I replaced the plastic support bracket and noticed that my 30 amp fuse for the IBR is looser then all the other ones. I tried to make the pins tighter but no luck. I wonder if anyone else has the same issue and maybe that is part of the IBR failures we see?? I used some aluminum foil to tighten the gap. Tested on land fine-- but will test on water-should be okay it tight now.

  6. #5
    SLASHER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia, Perth WA
    Posts
    3,263
    +1
    474
    The IBR ghost strikes again ...

    I had issues with my RXTX and IBR changed out ... Been good so far ...

  7. #6
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    Yeah mine was replaced too, but wondering if this is an issue with others.

  8. #7
    abie_lah's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kuala Terengganu, Malaysia
    Posts
    264
    my rxtx 260 also have a problem with ibr,,, have a error code,, C2146 ,C0042 and p1661,, im try to replacea fuse and clean fuse box from corrode,, also check all connector from ibr ,ecu, display meter and lever sensor,,, start back a engine and still have a problem,,,ibr error and same error code,,,
    any suggestion from other sifu,,,,

  9. #8
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    is your fuse tight in the fuse box? Is the IBR wire touching the exhaust? Did you try IBR over-ride to see if it actually works?

  10. #9
    SLASHER's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Australia, Perth WA
    Posts
    3,263
    +1
    474
    The 2010 rxtx have the Version 1 IBR ...

    There is now a Version 6 IBR , so there must of been some changes and improvements ...

  11. +1 by:


  12. #10
    surferd15's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Posts
    1,142
    +1
    83
    They said mine was an updated part when they put it in, but no specifics.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 2 users browsing this thread. (1 members and 1 guests)

  1. Ye Ol Salty Dog

Similar Threads

  1. Found My Problem
    By tchies in forum Sea Doo Open Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 12-30-2009, 11:18 AM
  2. I think yudluz2,salty,and abbott found my speed parasite.
    By txgp1300r in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 47
    Last Post: 09-09-2006, 10:29 AM
  3. Think I might have found my problem
    By Pettee in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-08-2006, 10:29 PM
  4. found my problem rpms
    By benny in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 04-20-2006, 08:52 PM
  5. Found my Problem with My RXP after Service.
    By Water4fire in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 06-20-2005, 03:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •