Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Maintenance on VXR

This weekend will be the first nice weekend of the year for us here up in northwestern Montana so I will be taking the VXR for it's first run of the season. It has 22 hours on it, I did the 10 hour oil change and service at my local Yamaha store last year (August) but they charged me nearly $300 to swap oil so I'm very hesitant to take it back to them. Do I need to look at changing oil, spark plugs, grease? I'm very new to doing my own work on these things so any advise would be appreciated. I winterized it but not completely as we keep it in the warmer garage(battery, anti-freeze flush, fuel). Last week I put the battery back in and turned her over with no issues at all.
    Thanks In advance!
    Luke

+1
    If you fogged the engine I would change the plugs after burning off the fogging oil. Only 12 hours on the oil you should be fine but could always change it out yourself. You will need an oil extractor pump.

I didn't fog it. When should I change the oil? Is there a set maintenance plan?

+1
    Search for a service manual online. You should be able to pick one up pretty cheap. It will explain all procedures for doing routine maintenance and also will help if you have any issues. These things are relatively easy to maintain yourself.

Pm sent to you.

PM sent back.

One other thing, my reverse lever is very stiff, my girlfriend cannot engage it. Any fix for this?

Quote Originally Posted by MT_Luke View Post
    PM sent back.

One other thing, my reverse lever is very stiff, my girlfriend cannot engage it. Any fix for this?