Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    showmepro1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    Posts
    524
    +1
    40

    TinyTach setting for 01 GP1200R?

    Surely a GP1200R owner can chime in here. I thought it was to be set at 120 (3 cylinder), but it seems like its reading low in comparison to the dash tach. Noticed this when setting my flow valve for holeshot kit.


  2. #2

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    panama city beach 'fl
    Posts
    1,846
    +1
    9
    how did you wrap wires and double check settings

  3. #3
    showmepro1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    Posts
    524
    +1
    40
    Three wraps around mag wire near the plug. Are you saying 120 is correct for this motor, or do you know?

  4. #4
    improvised tmg97gp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Midlothian Virginia USA ~ On the James River~
    Posts
    1,377
    +1
    10
    Set to 120 then wrap the red wire like this >> Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0025.jpg 
Views:	91 
Size:	67.9 KB 
ID:	296638
    Last edited by tmg97gp; 04-01-2013 at 06:06 PM.

  5. #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    panama city beach 'fl
    Posts
    1,846
    +1
    9
    120 and i grab 2 wires down stream with 3 raps each ,hope that helps cdpcb

  6. #6
    showmepro1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    Posts
    524
    +1
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by chip View Post
    120 and i grab 2 wires down stream with 3 raps each ,hope that helps cdpcb
    It all helps, thanks. I will check out the wrap instructions again. I am a bit confused on your response though - wouldn't wrapping two wires feed multiple signals to the tach? I do know they said to wrap just one spark plug wire...

  7. #7
    mudslanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Huntsville Al
    Posts
    1,326
    +1
    49
    I cant remember the setting # code but i set mine to 1 cylinder /2 stroke and only wrap one spark-plug wire. just make sure you wrap the signal wire around the mag pipe bracket tight like you were tying it in a knot. also make sure the plug wires are not touching each other. if you set to 1 cylinder and the plug wires are touching the tac sensor wire will read multiple cylinders and give false numbers.
    Hope this helps its the way i have mine set up and is accurate and doesn't give false numbers.

  8. #8
    showmepro1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    Posts
    524
    +1
    40
    Quote Originally Posted by mudslanger View Post
    I cant remember the setting # code but i set mine to 1 cylinder /2 stroke and only wrap one spark-plug wire. just make sure you wrap the signal wire around the mag pipe bracket tight like you were tying it in a knot. also make sure the plug wires are not touching each other. if you set to 1 cylinder and the plug wires are touching the tac sensor wire will read multiple cylinders and give false numbers.
    Hope this helps its the way i have mine set up and is accurate and doesn't give false numbers.
    Can you share a pic of your setup? Thanks

  9. #9
    mudslanger's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Huntsville Al
    Posts
    1,326
    +1
    49
    I have some but i don't think you can tell what i did. the mag wire with the tape on it is were i attached the sensor wire and taped around it to keep it tight on the wire.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC06164.jpg 
Views:	150 
Size:	106.6 KB 
ID:	296620  

  10. #10
    showmepro1200's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Jefferson City MO (Ride at Lake of the Ozarks)
    Posts
    524
    +1
    40
    Thanks - I'll use the tape idea and figure it out. Good to know 120 is the proper setting, I'm probably just getting a bad signal, will redo.

    How close is the OEM tach usually? Im thinking of relying on it for the meantime to do my jetworks valve setting.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. WTB Flame arrestors for 01 GP1200R
    By 992door in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-25-2012, 07:55 AM
  2. wear ring for 01 gp1200r
    By boosteddsm99 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-12-2011, 01:43 AM
  3. Needed: Stock popoff setting for 2001 GP1200R
    By JDpowerski in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-14-2010, 08:44 AM
  4. wtd intermediate shaft for 01 gp1200r
    By jetski1200r in forum Yamaha Classifieds
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-30-2008, 04:54 PM
  5. Jetting for 01 gp1200r please help
    By xprider02 in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 05-17-2008, 05:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •