1995 SL 750 - burned stator wires

I am new to all this so hope I dont say the wrong thing... I was recently washing my 95 sl 750 and i noticed smoke coming out of the hull. After inspecting what caused the smoke I found that my stator wire was burned. I just bought the ski and found the battery cover later in the ski. Is the damage already done or can I patch the wires with some good ol fashion electrical tape? I still get a spark but have not put any fuel through it as I am also repairing the common problems with this perticular model (fuel pump and oil block off kit). Thanks

+1
    Welcome to the Hulk! Since the wire is already burnt, that damage is already done. You can try replacing the wire from the stator to the electrical box in hopes that the stator itself wasn't damaged during the short. Stator test:http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=98103

Click avatar for tech links/info, donation request K447's Avatar
    +1
    Quote Originally Posted by Tystarr8 View Post
    I am new to all this so hope I dont say the wrong thing... I was recently washing my 95 sl 750 and i noticed smoke coming out of the hull. After inspecting what caused the smoke I found that my stator wire was burned. I just bought the ski and found the battery cover later in the ski. Is the damage already done or can I patch the wires with some good ol fashion electrical tape?

I still get a spark but have not put any fuel through it as I am also repairing the common problems with this particular model (fuel pump and oil block off kit). Thanks
    The oil pump is not a common problem, but many newcomers seem to think so. Make sure the oil hoses are in good condition or new, and properly connected and clamped.

Tip: Disconnect the battery before washing and generally messing around inside the hull. It is safer that way.