Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Unhappy My 1997 Yamaha Riva racing GP1200 will not give spark or gas, WHYYYYYY???

HI everyone,
    newbie here to the forum life, thanks for having me, any ways, the reason I'm here is to ask for advise on something that i cant get solved by myself and was hopping I can find some help here.

Here I go,
    bought a 1997 Riva racing GP1200 for a very comfortable price in the middle of winter here in PA, took it home and didn't worry about getting it started till now, weather and all, so I got the battery nice and charged and went for it, but no joy, I did the usual tricks to find out what was wrong, tested to see if there was a spark, reset the immobilizer on the cluster by disconnecting the one wire under the front storage compartment, I smelled for fuel in the carbs, ETC.. and nothing, thought maybe the Riva Racing Programmable CDI was gone form standing so long, apparently they suffer from this illness, so i replaced it with a stock CDI since they stopped making the Riva ones and the replacement cost almost a grand!, anyways, could someone please tell me what to do, if its the cluster or immobilizer, is there a way to eliminate that all together?, if its the computer how do I test it to be certain?......,

Going nuts, Please help.........

Thanks

+1
    So it cranks but won't fire up, correct? And you have no spark, correct?
    How did you test for spark (some methods are better then others)?
    The next step would be to test the stator. the specs and procedures are described in the service manual.
    And have you ran a compression test yet? If you buy a ski in the winter time, there is a good chance its being sold because its blown up.

Compression is good but there is no gas been sent anywhere either stater is sending pulse to the coil pack, it has a very strong crank, it feels like an immobilizer issue, what can I do to test this?

+1
    spray some starting fluid and check if it starts...maybe is too cold to start.