Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Water in MSX 140 crankcase

My buddy got a 2003 MSX 140 for $400. It only has 93 hours but it has a few problems. He bought it not running so i took the heads off and the cylinders looked great (though they had been bored out) but there was a nasty mix of oil and water everywhere. We pulled the motor out to replace the bendix (which was rusted shut) and i took the reeds out and there was water halfway up the reeds. Tomorrow i am going to pull the bottom half off the crankcase and clean everything out. My question is what could cause it to be flooded with water? Is there anything i need to check while i am in there? I have been working on four wheelers for 7 years now but i am new to jet ski's. Any help would be appreciated!

The previous owner was no help because he bought it from somebody else broken and didnt know anything about it.

+1
    If you have that much water in the case, and given the previous owner bought it like that I would say your crank bearings are well and truly gone. You will need to tear that engine right down, the cause of water entering the engine is varied but most commonly if it is tipped over and not attended to quickly enough, and turned over in the wrong direction. You didn't mention if the engine turns by hand, I suspect not you may have a bent rod in there as well just tear it down and be prepared to invest in a crank at least, probably a top end as well. What makes you believe the cylinders have been bored out? These cylinders are nicasil so they don't get bored, they can be sleeved but I haven't seen any oversized applications would be good to see some pics from you.

Quote Originally Posted by urugol View Post