Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Waverunner Maintenance Suggestion for Newbie

Hey everyone,

I own a 2006 Yamaha Waverunner FX1100 HO with about 200 hours on it. Being that my brother was the primary user of the waverunner, I left it up to him for the most part to take care of its daily and seasonal upkeep. This, seems to be a mistake at this point but nonetheless, I was hoping to have some questions answered as to what I may do to TRY and "recover" it from ultimate destruction.

Heres what I have found so far. (While I am somewhat mechanically inclined, I am not a master mechanic but do have some knowledge so please keep it in mind if you can when helping me out or giving me direction)

FIRST,

This was one of the few times he did NOT winterize it. Knowing I need a new battery, change the oil, plugs etc...when removing the plugs, I did notice some water at the tip of the plug in chamber 4. Obviously, Im a bit concerned about this and would like to know what sorta preventitive measure I can do (cleaners: Startron?) you might suggest I do before the season goes into full swing.

SECONDLY,

Towards the end of last season, it was having a "rough idle" issue. Inititally thought to be bad gas..NOPE. Air filter..NOPE. Now I'm guessing the next possible scenario could be fuel filter? Once the throttle is pulled, the WaveRunner will run fine, for a waverunner with 200 hours on it, but the second you lay off the throttle, it eventually and very quickly starts to rough idle and ultimately stall. Any guesses or suggestions? I have not located the fuel filter as of yet but from what Ive read it seems as if its actually inside the tank and before I do this I would like some suggestions on if this could be the problem. Keeping in mind, it has never had a fuel filter replacement.

THIRDLY,