Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Did I smoke my motor? Oh yea, Hi guys new to the forum.

Hey all, wish I was introducing myself under better circumstances. This is going to be a long one, but I've done a ton of searching and couldn't find any help so Im hoping someone can give me their 2 cents.

Background - I'm an above average mechanic (I am a licensed aircraft tech on both jets and piston powered aircraft), I've been around small two stroke and 4 stroke engines all of my life. Lots of boating experience of all sizes, including jetskis but not since '98 or 99, and unfortunately I didn't work on those skis very much because I was a bit younger at the time.

Two days ago I bought two yami GP800R and a XLT800 to mess around with, nice looking skis with 90 hours on them. I did a complete prebuy inspection on them, meaning I ran them both in and out of the water, did a compression test, etc etc etc, pretty much everything recommended on this site and others after doing searches for info. Both skis checked out perfectly, except both had brand new autocraft batterys, and they are junk, and it was apperent that the xlt bat was bad and autozone replaced (I actually upgraded to a sealed battery for the price difference). The battery part will be revisited later in the story. The fuel valves were stuck on as the guy said he never moved them and they eventually froze. Also the GPR had trouble idling until warmed up, but once warm it ran like a clock, I figured I just needed to clean the carbs.