Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

+1

LMode How Does It Work

For the first time I put one of my skis in L mode for a friend to ride. Then I took it for a spin and noticed at just below 8K ski acts like its cavitating. How does L mode really work? I really didn't like the sound ski was making in the top RPM range of L mode.

BTW, we did 76 miles, mine in full mode and the other in L mode. We burnt exactly same fuel.

Does anyone know what L mode does to the engine? If it was only limiting the RPM by controlling the ignition why would ski start sounding as if it has sucked up kelp or cavitating?

2006 FX HO Cruiser

+1
    I searched a lot but no data from Yamaha on this.

+1
    Reza......I am no expert at this, but I believe it changes the ignition timing.........on the fly by wire ski's it also restricts the electronic throttle valve opening, not sure how it exactly works on the MR1 though.

+1
    Did you ever try it on your machine. I had never tried it in 3 years until I did this last weekend. I tell you it felt it does more bad than good. Sounded bad just like when I ran on 3 cylinder. I wonder if it start pouring extra gas by changing the ignition timing. No fuel savings either. The only benefit is if the machine is in the hands of an inexperienced person, you reduce hitting over 10K when getting unhooked. That's the only reason I did it as the person riding with me doesn't know anything about throttle control.

+1
    No, I have never used mine in low RPM mode.........never use the remote actually, it always stays unlocked! Something to play with & see if I get the same results as you next time I go out.

+1
    All the manual says is that the RPMs are limited to about 80% of normal.