Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 151
  1. #1
    To much is never enough Badvgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    699
    +1
    31

    A bad day...ARP Rod Bolt Measure Stretch not Torque

    So of to the boat ramp I went, CMD dialing in very well, accepting changes with the laptop then it got wet (salt water) and no more laptop.

    Oh well I thought.

    Went out for a blast on the new engine and threw a rod through the block.

    Taken home now and pulled the engine in record time, just gotta strip it down now to see how / why it done it.

    Looks like the rod cap has come off.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Rod Block.jpg 
Views:	300 
Size:	50.9 KB 
ID:	299710
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Engine Out.jpg 
Views:	275 
Size:	56.3 KB 
ID:	299709  
    Last edited by Badvgood; 04-29-2013 at 03:09 PM. Reason: Change of thread title for search engines etc


  2. #2
    Ski Hacks MG's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Georgia
    Posts
    5,253
    +1
    990
    I feel your pain. If I had to pull he motor from my 04' GTX again, I think I could do it in 30 minutes.

  3. #3
    REID2168's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    My House
    Posts
    8,156
    +1
    241
    Ouch...................PERIOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  4. #4
    Bob 1tommygunner1927's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    6,370
    +1
    980
    .....

  5. #5
    mikelytle1077's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    frisco, tx
    Posts
    955
    +1
    37
    wow what rod bolts you using ?

  6. #6
    Fast & Loud meeper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    West Grove, PA
    Posts
    5,019
    +1
    54
    damn who built the motor

  7. #7
    shrabber's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Jacksonville, FL
    Posts
    5,305
    +1
    376
    What rods?? I'm assuming new rod bolts, if Carrillo rods they need to be stretched. Looks to be they were not tourqed or stretched properly

  8. #8
    To much is never enough Badvgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    699
    +1
    31
    Molnar rods with ARP bolts. Everything was torqued up with a digital recently calibrated gauge, checked again the next day by me and my mate so they were done up as per the specs.

    Need to get it apart for the full story.

    When I gave up my old job of building / re-coning engines I had less that a 0.4% failure rate measured over something like 1800 units so I am fairly confident in my abilities. But you know you sit here and doubt yourself when stuff like this happens!

  9. #9
    To much is never enough Badvgood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    699
    +1
    31
    Yeah all brand new stuff

  10. #10
    Autism Speaks. Its Time To Listen gOt BoOsT's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Cali
    Posts
    1,413
    +1
    51
    holy shit man that sucks!!!!

Page 1 of 16 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FS - Parts New/Used ARP rod bolt set
    By Slow 91 in forum Sea Doo Classifieds
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-15-2016, 09:25 PM
  2. Carrillo Rod Bolt Stretch
    By Glade Rider in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-12-2014, 05:22 PM
  3. Carrillo Rod Bolt/ARP Stud Bolt Torque
    By dnielsen in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-29-2013, 04:39 PM
  4. 4-tec ARP Rod bolts - Anyone able to use them?
    By boostaholic in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 03-09-2010, 01:25 AM
  5. ARP Bolts: Rod Bolts/Rocker Bolts Torque specs? Help!
    By boostaholic in forum 4-Tec Performance
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-12-2009, 06:37 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •