Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Beverly, ma
    Posts
    46
    +1
    3

    GP1300r handlebar replacement

    I am wondering if there are going to be any issues changing my handle bars on my GP. it has the QSTS and I know that it is part of the grips. Any help would be great

    thanks
    jamie


  2. #2
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,049
    +1
    238
    You will have to cut down that grip

  3. #3
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,049
    +1
    238
    Or you can buy the odi grips but will have to buy the shorter one for the qts side. Throttle side is 130 mm

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Beverly, ma
    Posts
    46
    +1
    3
    So I can cut down the grip and install my aftermarket grips?

  5. #5
    steach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Rock Tavern, NY
    Posts
    3,174
    +1
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by Jmlampert23 View Post
    So I can cut down the grip and install my aftermarket grips?
    NO. it's not easy but I think it's a must.
    see an old thread... http://www.greenhulk.net/forums/showthread.php?t=54417

  6. #6
    Almost's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Cape May, NJ
    Posts
    778
    +1
    73
    You do not have to cut the grips. I switched out to 32 inch riva bars and kept everything intact. Works just like it came from the factory but I still have my OEM grips also. If you want to change grips your probably going to need to cut it. There is a how to in the how to section, but the pics are gone. The only other thing to do is drill holes for the nubs on the start button ect. Also you need to tap the hole for the quick trim screw.

  7. #7

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Beverly, ma
    Posts
    46
    +1
    3
    thanks for the info. I was planning on going with some aftermarket grips but I think I might keep them stock for now and play with the changing of grips later on.

  8. #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Beverly, ma
    Posts
    46
    +1
    3
    what hole needs to be drilled? what screw do I need to tap a hole for?

  9. #9
    Banned User
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    5,049
    +1
    238
    I run renthals and you can check out my build thread or pics. Yes I had to cut that grip down. I think I'm going to remove qts this summer so I can run a 130mm full size grip

  10. #10
    steach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Rock Tavern, NY
    Posts
    3,174
    +1
    174
    Quote Originally Posted by Jmlampert23 View Post
    what hole needs to be drilled? what screw do I need to tap a hole for?
    The long M6 screw that locks the trim side in place.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. 96 xp handlebar replacement.
    By aruba yamaha in forum 2-Stroke Performance
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-01-2014, 10:23 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-21-2012, 10:23 PM
  3. GP1300R Engine Replacement Advice
    By jaywaite in forum Yamaha PWC Performance (2-stroke)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 07-26-2010, 11:11 PM
  4. GP1300R Starter replacement and service manual
    By MattM in forum Yamaha How To & FAQs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-29-2010, 09:44 AM
  5. handlebar replacement...
    By giguchan in forum Kawasaki PWC Performance (4-stroke)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 11:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •