Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

First stand up ski, tips/hints so forth

Hey guys, pretty much I am completely new to the stand up crowd, I have jet-ski's (sit down) but I have been wanting to make the change for a while now, have just been procrastinating because I never go buy something going in blind, after all, knowledge is power. I was contemplating buying a 440/450 but I have been told by a couple of mates that I'll get over it and want more to quickly, I am just wondering if anyone has some advice, what ski I should get and things to look for and so forth.
    A little bit of info to help, I am 5'11 75kg's, good coordination. I will be wanting to wave jump EVENTUALLY.

Banned User
    +1
    If you want a good cheap kawi 650x if you can swing the cost buy a 800sxr

+1
    If you'd want good speed and more of a cruising/racing ski, get a kawi (750sx, 750 sxi pro, 800sxr). If you think you'll be getting into freestyle and throwing backflips/barrel rolls off of those waves, get a yamaha superjet. I personally prefer Kawasaki over the yamahas, personal preference. Check out X-H2O if you want more info and hep deciding, the amount of information about stand-ups on there is endless

Thanks for the replies, yeah I wasn't looking to spend TO much, which comes to the next dilemma is it better spending less starting out, or spending more.

+1
    Have you ever ridden a standup?

+1
    First and foremost, serious welcome to the forum and the world of stand-up skis. FWIW a lot of us cut our teeth on 440/550s. It's your call on the less vs more up front, but here's a few facts:

The Kawi 440/550 hull is the hardest to learn on and has the longest learning curve. They are also cheap to buy.
    The kawi SXR is the easiest to learn on - with even minimal effort you can be up and turning in full control within the first hour. It is costly because they are still RELATIVELY new - at least compared to a '80s or '90s ski. Good luck finding one in good shape for under 4k.