1996 seadoo challenger cavitation

Hello, I am a newbie when it comes to 2 stroke / jet boats but am very mechanically inclined. I have a 1996 seadoo challenger that i had rebuilt and the carbs rebuilt as well. I have a skat-trak 17/22 impeller and basically all stock else where. I am having a cavitation issue i believe. I rebuilt the pump new bearings/seals new "HD" carbon seal and steel ring. I also purchased a seadoo alignment tool. When i installed the alignment tool i had 2 washers on the top studs for the pump when i aligned, should i have left them off? when i installed carbon seal it doesnt look perfectly lined up. Now, i have taken this boat out for the first time and it seems to take forever to plane with alot of bow rise doesnt matter if i mess with trim or not and stays bow up for ~20 seconds from a holeshot. now it takes a little bit to get to the "top speed" which i have not verified but it feels like 35-40 mph and if i take a turn it seems like i lose more speed than i should no matter if i turn left or right. I resealed the pump shoe to the hull and the screw threads that protrude in the hull. It doesnt look like there is and water leaking in the carbon seal but possibly sucking air. There are 3 grooves on the driveshaft i cant tell from the manual whether the 2 are for the oring and the last for the clip or if they are there to increase pressure on the seal. The pump also has a new wear ring with set screws and a new impeller boot. There is no driveshaft protector on the outside. Thanks for all the help that i have gotten from this place without all of you id still be at step 1!

+1
    one thing it sounds like you have way too high pitch prop

This is what impros suggested 17/22 or 14.5/22.5 I thought alot of people used this impeller on these boats with great results

+1
    maybe the 14:22 bat the 1722 is way too muchno more power than the engines haveI would probably go with a 14 18